This is about miscellaneous issues for divorce in Ohio, including residence requirements, grounds for divorce, common law marriage, annulment, legal separation, and any requirement for parent training in Ohio.
This information is from Thomas J. McGuire, theDivorceInfo Network Lawyer for Ohio. Click here to visit his web site.
- What are the requirements for residence?
- What are the grounds for divorce?
- Is there such a thing as common law marriage?
- How does annulment work?
- Is there such a thing as legal separation? If so, how does it work?
- Do parents of minor children have to go through parent training? If so, how much does it cost, and how long does it take?
What are the requirements for residence?
Anyone filing a complaint in Ohio must be an Ohio resident for at least six months, and a resident of the county for 90 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint.
What are the grounds for divorce?
Grounds for Divorce in Ohio are: A) Either party had a husband or wife living at the time of the marriage from which the divorce is sought; (B) Willful absence of the adverse party for one year; (C) Adultery; (D) Extreme cruelty; (E) Fraudulent contract; (F) Any gross neglect of duty; (G) Habitual drunkenness; (H) Imprisonment of the adverse party in a state or federal correctional institution at the time of filing the complaint; (I) Procurement of a divorce outside this state, by a husband or wife, by virtue of which the party who procured it is released from the obligations of the marriage, while those obligations remain binding upon the other party; (J) On the application of either party, when husband and wife have, without interruption for one year, lived separate and apart without cohabitation; (K) Incompatibility, unless denied by either party.
Is there such a thing as common law marriage?
How does annulment work?
Is there such a thing as legal separation? If so, how does it work?
Yes. A legal separation in Ohio is similar to a divorce or dissolution except that the marriage contract remains intact.
Do parents of minor children have to go through parent training? If so, how much does it cost, and how long does it take?
Most courts require that the parents and child go through training. The average cost is approximately $20.00 for the classes. The training takes a few hours and is completed in one day.