Texas Divorce FAQ’s – Alimony

This is about alimony after divorce in Texas, including when courts order alimony, how the amount of alimony is set in Texas, and how and when Texas courts stop alimony once it’s awarded.

This information is from Robert J. Matlock, the DivorceInfo Network Lawyer for Texas. Click here to visit his web site.

When does alimony get paid?

The term in Texas is “spousal maintenance” and the court can order it paid only under very limited circumstances.  It is intended to be a rehabilitative tool for a person who is unable to support himself/herself after the divorce.

How does the court decide how much?

The statute defines the maximum as either $2,500 per month or 20% of the paying party’s gross monthly income, whichever is less.  Within those limits, the court determines what length of time and amount of money is necessary to assist the receiving party to become self-supporting.

What does it take to change alimony?

A change of circumstances on the part of either the paying party or the receiving party.  Spousal support can only be modified downward.

When does alimony stop?

The maximum term for payment of support is 3 years unless the receiving party is disabled.  If the receiving party is disabled, the support will be halted when the disability is remedied.  If the receiving party is not disabled, the support will be discontinued after the minimum period necessary for the party to become self-sufficient financially.

Other issues in Texas:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *